Album Reviews

Back in Black – AC/DC

Back in Black – AC/DC

The AC/DC’s seventh album, called Back in Black was released in July, 1980. It was the first album that the band recorded without the former lead singer Bon Scott, who died at the age of 33, and was dedicated to him. The band wanted to disband, but with the encouragement from Scott’s parents, the continued with a new lead singer Brian Johnson.

After the success of Highway to Hell, AC/DC started developing a new album. Some of the songwriting was completed before the death of Bon Scott. When Brian Johnson replaced him, he decided to finish the songwriting with the Young brothers composing the music.

The first sound on Back in Black is the deep, threatening buzz of church bells- or “Hell’s Bells“, as it is known. Song for song, they succeeded in delivering tracks that became anthems, including the greasy “Shoot to Thrill“, the title track “Back in Black” and the greatest one-night-stand anthem in rock history “You Shook Me All Night Long“. The final song on the album “Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution” reached No.15 on the UK Singles Chart and that was the highest placing of any song on the album.

With the selling of 50 million copies worldwide in June 2011, Back in Black became the second highest-selling album of all time, the highest-selling album by a band, the best-selling hard rock album of all time, and the best-selling album ever released by an Australian musical act.

  1. Hells Bells – 5:10
  2. Shoot to Thrill – 5:17
  3. What Do You Do for Money Honey – 3:33
  4. Given the Dog a Bone – 3:30
  5. Let Me Put My Love Into You – 4:16
  6. Back in Black – 4:14
  7. You Shook Me All Night Long – 3:30
  8. Have a Drink on Me – 3:57
  9. Shake a Leg – 4:06
  10. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution – 4:15

Amazing Rock

October 6th, 2014

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *