Album Reviews

OK Computer – Radiohead

OK Computer – Radiohead

With the textured sound capes of The Bends as a initiation pad, the alternative rock band Radiohead released their first self-produced album called OK Computer. The releasing of the album was in 1997 on Parlophone and Capitol Records.

With OK Computer, the band wanted to achieve incredibly deep and terrifying sound and an atmosphere that’s a bit appalling when you first hear it.

The lyrics, were written by Yorke and they consisted themes about transport, technology, insanity, death, globalization and modern life in UK. He was inspired by the books he was reading at the time, like “The Age of Extremes“, “What a Carve Up!” and “The State We’re In“. OK Computer is filled with temperamental masterpieces, from the iridescent “Subterranean Homesick Alien” and the sighing “Karma Police” to the gothic “Exit Music (For a Film)“. The title of the album was original name for the song “Palo Alto“, which was abandoned from the album. Yorke has described the name OK Computer as a really resigned, terrified phrase and it refers to embrace the future, to be terrified of the future.

OK Computer received widespread critical acclaim and was considered as one of the greatest rock albums of the 1990’s. It reached number one on the UK Albums Chart and became Radiohead’s highest album entry on the American charts at the time. The album extended the band’s popularity and sold over eight million copies worldwide.

  1. Airbag – 4:44
  2. Paranoid Android – 6:23
  3. Subterranean Homesick Alien – 4:28
  4. Exit Music (for a Film) – 4:25
  5. Let Down – 4:59
  6. Karma Police – 4:22
  7. Fitter Happier – 1:57
  8. Electioneering – 3:51
  9. Climbing Up the Walls – 4:45
  10. No Surprises – 3:49
  11. Lucky – 4:20
  12. The Tourist – 5:25
  13. A Reminder – 3:54
  14. Melatonin – 2:08

Amazing Rock

October 6th, 2014

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *