Album Reviews

Slippery When Wet – Bon Jovi

Slippery When Wet – Bon Jovi

Slippery When Wet was the breakthrough album for Bon Jovi. It was released in 1986, through Mercury Records and Vertigo Records.

The album presented combination of hard rock, metal and pop and it was instant commercial success. The part of the album’s success is attributed to Desmond Child because with his help Bon Jovi wrote pair of songs that became hit singles – “You Give Love a Bad Name” and “Living on a Prayer“. The rest of the songs were written by Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora.

The album’s name was changed many times during its inception. The first title was Wanted Dead or Alive, but after their visit in The Number 5 Orange Stripclub in Vancouver they changed it into Slippery When Wet.

After the third single “Wanted dead or Alive“, which was peaked at No.7, Slippery When Wet became the first hard rock album that spawn three Billboard Hot 100 Top 10 hits. The album became the best-selling album of 1987, beating out contenders like The Joshua Tree and Appetite for Destruction.

Bon Jovi – Slippery When Wet Tracks

  1. Let It Rock – 5:24
  2. You Give Love a Bad Name – 3:44
  3. Livin’ On A Prayer – 4:10
  4. Social Disease – 4:17
  5. Wanted Dead Or Alive – 5:07
  6. Raise Your Hands – 4:15
  7. Without Love – 3:40
  8. I’d Die for You – 4:32
  9. Never Say Goodbye – 4:48
  10. Wild In The Streets – 3:54

Amazing Rock

September 30th, 2014

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *