Album Reviews

The Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd

The Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd

One of the most commercially successful rock albums of all the time is Pink Floyd‘s The Dark Side of the Moon. The album was a US Number One and it remained on the Billboard chart for fourteen years.

After eight albums, this was the band’s breakthrough.

The Dark Side of the Moon was released in March, 1973 and it is a classic-rock milestone. It deals with the depravity of human life, addressing such subjects as money, time and madness. The keys to understanding the meaning of the album are the taped voices in the singles “Money“, “Time“, “Us and Them“. The album showcased the talents of the group’s members: Gilmour‘s guitar and Water’s lyrics.

The tracks reflect various stages of human life, exploring the nature of the human experience.

The Dark Side of the Moon was recorded in two sessions, between May 1972 and January 1873, at Abbey Road Studios.

With 50 million copies sold, the album brought enormous wealth to the members of Pink Floyd and also became one of the best-selling albums worldwide.

Pink Floyd – The Dark Side of the Moon Tracks

  1. Speak to Me – 1:13
  2. Breathe – 2:46
  3. On the Run – 3:35
  4. Time – 7:04
  5. The Great Gig in the Sky – 4:48
  6. Money – 6:23
  7. Us and Them – 7:50
  8. Any Colour You Like – 3:25
  9. Brain Damage – 3:50
  10. Eclipse – 2:03

Amazing Rock

September 15th, 2014

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *