Album Reviews

Violator – Depeche Mode

Violator – Depeche Mode

Violator is the Depeche Mode’s first album that reached the top ten on the Billboard 200, peaking at number seven. It was released on 19 March, 1990 by Mute Records.

The album, described as stunning, propelled the band into international stardom. With the opening two singles from the album, it was clear that the record would dominate the worldwide charts. The first single was “Personal Jesus“, obstinately simplistic, with main blues guitar chords and deep funk/hip-hop beat. The second one was “Enjoy the Silence“, a ballad pumped up into a enormous, theatrical romance/dance number. These were followed by two further singles “Policy of Truth” and “World in My Eyes“.

The extremely emotional lyrics were written by Martin Gore, filtered through Alan Wilder’s ear for perfect arrangements, with the help from the English producer Flood.

Violator was ranked number 342 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. It was also included in the book “1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die“. The album sold million copies in the United States and that was the first enormous success for Depeche Mode.

Depeche Mode – Violator Tracks

  1. World in My Eyes – 4:26
  2. Sweetest Perfection – 4:43
  3. Personal Jesus – 4:56
  4. Halo – 4:30
  5. Waiting for the Night – 6:07
  6. Enjoy the Silence – 6:12
  7. Interlude #2 – Crucified – 1:52 (hidden track starting at 4:21)
  8. Policy of Truth – 4:55
  9. Blue Dress – 5:41
  10. Interlude #3 – 1:23 (hidden track starting at 4:18)
  11. Clean – 5:32

Amazing Rock

September 30th, 2014

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *