Helsinki, Finland
Years active
1991 - present

The Finnish rock band HIM, earlier known as His Infernal Majesty, was formed in Helsinki, 1991 by vocalist Ville Valo, guitarist Mikko “Linde” Lindström and bassist Mikko “Migé” Paananen. Their musical style is referred to as “love metal”, a crafted mix of metal, goth and hard rock.

During their early years, the band released two demos, “Witches” and “Other Night Fears” and one untitled tape that the fans have named it as “This Is Only The Beginning“.

The group’s first full-length album was released in 1997 under the name Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666. The album includes covers of Chris Isaak’s “Wicked Game” and Blue Öyster Cult’s “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper“. After the releasing of the album the band shortened their name to HIM.

Releasing their second album Razorblade Romance in 1999, the band’s popularity began to increase. With the single “Join Me In Death“, the album topped the German and Finnish charts.

HIM marked their true breakthrough with the album Dark Light in 2005, reaching the Top 20 of the Billboard 200. Being certified gold by the RIAA, the band became first Finnish band to have a gold album in the US.
In December, 2012 the band performed a new song named “I Will Be the End of You“, and later in 2013 they released a new album called Tears on Tape.